• Dear Guest, Please note that adult content is not permitted on this forum. We have had our Google ads disabled at times due to some posts that were found from some time ago. Please do not post adult content and if you see any already on the forum, please report the post so that we can deal with it. Adult content is allowed in the glory hole - you will have to request permission to access it. Thanks, scara

Bass Players?

Steed Train

Clive Wilson
I've got an electric bass and have managed to partially learn a couple of songs I like however have now hit bit of a wall. I am quite keen to teach myself as it gives me something to do in the evening. Anyone have any tips for technique, good learning tools or ways to practice?

Never played bass but I'm self taught guitar and some piano and I think the main thing is practice, practice, practice. Half an hour a night should do it. You'll kep hitting walls all the time and you just have to keep practicing and practicing. If you want proper finger exercises, get on the web. You'll be amazed at the amount of stuff you'll find on Youtube, a lot of the time linking into an instructional website, sometimes free, sometimes paid.

But make sure you practice, every day. It used to be the first thing I did when I came home from work. Brilliant way of letting the workday brush over you and getting into a relaxed mood.

I've got an electric bass and have managed to partially learn a couple of songs I like however have now hit bit of a wall. I am quite keen to teach myself as it gives me something to do in the evening. Anyone have any tips for technique, good learning tools or ways to practice?