• Dear Guest, Please note that adult content is not permitted on this forum. We have had our Google ads disabled at times due to some posts that were found from some time ago. Please do not post adult content and if you see any already on the forum, please report the post so that we can deal with it. Adult content is allowed in the glory hole - you will have to request permission to access it. Thanks, scara

Handing in Notice.. Best way to do it!

Dicko

Edgar Davids
So after 4 odd years (where I've been considering leaving for about the last 18 months!) the day as almost come to hand in my notice. I've found a brand spanking new role and I'm ready to stick it the boss man..

Any ideas for the best way to hand in my notice?

PS. Serious question... If I need to give 4 weeks notice can I just book the whole 4th week off as Annual Leave or can they be tossers and make me work the whole thing?

Don't be a clown shoe about it, no matter how tempting.

Have you resignation printed and signed, set up a meeting with your manager and hand it in, simple enough. Make sure you do the "want to thank you for the opportunity given" etc. etc. bit.

Yes it's fairly normal to hand in a months notice, but take into account Annual Leave time outstanding.

So after 4 odd years (where I've been considering leaving for about the last 18 months!) the day as almost come to hand in my notice. I've found a brand spanking new role and I'm ready to stick it the boss man..

PS. Serious question... If I need to give 4 weeks notice can I just book the whole 4th week off as Annual Leave or can they be tossers and make me work the whole thing?

very much depends on the company - but its not really in their interest to not let you take it, as a) they know you wont give a damn for 4 weeks and b) they would most likely have to pay you for any outstanding (pro rated) annual leave

best thing is to do politely and professionally - dont burn any bridges