1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dear Guest, Please note that adult content is not permitted on this forum. We have had our Google ads disabled due to some posts that were found from some time ago. Please do not post adult content and if you see any already on the forum, please report the post so that we can deal with it. Thanks, scara
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Please read this post: https://www.glory-glory.co.uk/community/threads/fund-raising-for-jeremy-yermiyahu.10542/
    Dismiss Notice

Windows 8 - Please Help!

Discussion in 'Randomination' started by Armchair Expert, 21 Apr 2014.

  1. Armchair Expert

    Armchair Expert Vedran Corluka

    Joined:
    15 Jan 2012
    Messages:
    5,940
    Likes Received:
    812
    Location:
    Fulham
    i just tried to turn on my computer and it went to a recovery programme! nothing seemed wrong with it last time i turned it off.

    obviously i didn't want to lose everything, switched it off and back on again, and now its booted up fine?!

    has anyone else had this problem? hopefully this is just a one off and for whatever reason it failed to boot, and the recovery programme is the automatic default for the os.

    can that be the case? fking windows 8 is a nightmare. has anyone else downloaded the free update to windows 8.1? any feedback on that would be appreciated!
     
  2. scaramanga

    scaramanga Sonny Walters Staff Member

    Joined:
    13 Jan 2012
    Messages:
    30,614
    Likes Received:
    17,618
    Normally that would only happen after a failure to boot. Can't see why it would during a normal startup. I know it sounds stupid, but is there anything resting/broken on the keyboard?

    I've seen someone's computer BIOS loop because of a stuck key before.

    8.1 is a vital update - especially as you can now boot to desktop. Don't forget to install Classic Shell if you haven't already.
     
  3. Armchair Expert

    Armchair Expert Vedran Corluka

    Joined:
    15 Jan 2012
    Messages:
    5,940
    Likes Received:
    812
    Location:
    Fulham
    whats classic shell scara?

    computer seems to be working. i hadn't downloaded the new manufacturer bios update, i've done that now and everything seems to be fine.

    guess i better download 8.1 then!
     
  4. scaramanga

    scaramanga Sonny Walters Staff Member

    Joined:
    13 Jan 2012
    Messages:
    30,614
    Likes Received:
    17,618
    Classic shell makes it look like a proper OS again without all the touchscreen nonsense. Free download.
     
  5. Superted

    Superted Jonathan Woodgate

    Joined:
    16 Jan 2012
    Messages:
    4,075
    Likes Received:
    197
    Location:
    Where everybody knows your name
    I got a Surface Pro 2 recently. Awesome product especially if you need something for business.

    But it's my first experience with Windows 8. Slowly getting used to it but you can select to work in a typical desktop fashion. Is this the same thing as Classic Shell?
     
  6. scaramanga

    scaramanga Sonny Walters Staff Member

    Joined:
    13 Jan 2012
    Messages:
    30,614
    Likes Received:
    17,618
    Sort of. Classic Shell adds some extras such as the Windows key opening the Start Menu (as it should), and a classic style Windows Explorer.

    I've only seen a Surface IRL, not a Pro so I'm not sure what the difference between 8.1 on a dekstop and a Surface Pro is.
     
  7. Superted

    Superted Jonathan Woodgate

    Joined:
    16 Jan 2012
    Messages:
    4,075
    Likes Received:
    197
    Location:
    Where everybody knows your name
    Well the windows key takes it to the tiles so probably not what you're saying.

    But to be honest, I prefer that.
     
  8. NorwegianSpursFan

    NorwegianSpursFan Goran Bunjevcevic

    Joined:
    30 Jan 2012
    Messages:
    1,710
    Likes Received:
    513
    On a tablet that makes more sense, but on a pc the tiles just cluters things up.
     
  9. scaramanga

    scaramanga Sonny Walters Staff Member

    Joined:
    13 Jan 2012
    Messages:
    30,614
    Likes Received:
    17,618
    The one user set that MS didn't think of is those of us who use laptops with trackpads/nipples. When using my laptop, I never remove my hands from the keyboard area - I only have to move my hand across about an inch to use the nipple in the middle.

    They believe that touchscreens are as easy/easier than a mouse - that may be true, but they're considerably less efficient than how I currently work.
     
  10. Superted

    Superted Jonathan Woodgate

    Joined:
    16 Jan 2012
    Messages:
    4,075
    Likes Received:
    197
    Location:
    Where everybody knows your name
    I haven't seen laptop nipples for years. My first one had one and I loved it.

    Not a huge fan of trackpads. I'm getting a portable mouse to plug in when I need to do intense work on spreadsheets, etc. nothing beats that.
     
  11. scaramanga

    scaramanga Sonny Walters Staff Member

    Joined:
    13 Jan 2012
    Messages:
    30,614
    Likes Received:
    17,618
    Buy Lenovo - they still have them - it's the only brand I've used in years.
     

Share This Page