• Dear Guest, Please note that adult content is not permitted on this forum. We have had our Google ads disabled at times due to some posts that were found from some time ago. Please do not post adult content and if you see any already on the forum, please report the post so that we can deal with it. Adult content is allowed in the glory hole - you will have to request permission to access it. Thanks, scara

Geek question: Software to create Word-documents from text input?

Robbo

Les Ferdinand
Hello smart people,

I find this a bit hard to explain...but I'm looking for software that will convert text into Word documents. In short.

Here's the long story: I'm a journalist, and at work we produce our articles in Word, using set formats for title, body text, etc., and send those formatted documents to our designers. When formattet correctly, these documents slip nicely into Indesign. But not everyone at work knows how to use Word properly.

Basically what I'm looking for is software of some kind that will allow me to type the title of an article into a box, the body text in a different box, etc. without having to worry about font, text size, etc. And when finished, you can save your work as a Word document with all the right formatting.

Does this exist? Do anyone know any progams that do this?

Obviously we should ideally be going for the full publishing package, but unfortunately we're too small and can't afford anything like that. Hence my request for a simple program that outputs Word documents.

Any help would be greatly appreciated! :)

I could be misunderstading (apologies if so) but why don't you simply type your articles in Word using the correct template / styles as set by your designers?

We have Word templates for all basic reports / letters / minutes, etc. in our place (not journos, mind you) and works very well even for people with limited Word knowledge

Last edited:
I was going to say the same as Arcy. Surely the easiest solution is to use a template?