• Dear Guest, Please note that adult content is not permitted on this forum. We have had our Google ads disabled at times due to some posts that were found from some time ago. Please do not post adult content and if you see any already on the forum, please report the post so that we can deal with it. Adult content is allowed in the glory hole - you will have to request permission to access it. Thanks, scara

Ending a tenancy

Spursman

Neil Sullivan
I have been renting for the last 8 months and will be moving into a mortgaged property on the 23rd July. I have not rented before but I was told I would need to give a months notice.

So today I contacted the estate agent to notify them that I want to leave in a months time. They have said that as my rent day is the 17th of every month and as it's now the 25th June my notice period starts on the 17th July and I would be liable for rent up until 17th August.

I didn't know it worked like this but I can't delay moving by 1 month because of this.

How can I get out of having to pay a months rent when I won't even be living there? I can't really afford to be paying a mortgage and 1 months rent.

Have you checked the terms on your tenancy agreement? There must be a termination clause in there and it should be clear on the notice period.

I've got all the paper work here but the tenancy agreement isn't! I don't get it! I did get one.

After 6 months they sent me a letter saying do I want to continue and sign for 6 months or do I wish to do it on a monthly basis. So I chose monthly. I didn't actually sign anything again it was all done on the phone I think.

In the renewal letter it says " there is no need for a new agreement to be drawn up as the current agreement contains a clause, which enables a renewal to be agreed upon expiry of the initial fixed term, whereby the tenancy continues as a monthly statutory periodic tenancy and the same terms and conditions apply. See section 13 clause 13.2 for further information.