• Dear Guest, Please note that adult content is not permitted on this forum. We have had our Google ads disabled at times due to some posts that were found from some time ago. Please do not post adult content and if you see any already on the forum, please report the post so that we can deal with it. Adult content is allowed in the glory hole - you will have to request permission to access it. Thanks, scara

Refereeing/ blaming referee

Kandi1977

Steve Sedgley
As a referee I have both seen and felt how football is fast going in the wrong direction in terms of players, coaches, staff and crowds constantly complaining about decisions, and players surrounding the referees after a decision is given. There is NO other sport with this amount of moaning and constant battering of the officials! Just look at NFL, NBA, Handboll, Tennis, Badminton, Rugby and so on. I think it's time FIFA really puts a stop to this before it's too late! This sort of behavior is killing the sport, and it's getting increasingly difficult to recruit young boys and girls to become referees, as they get treated the same way as the professionals!

There are only two ways to get rid of this appalling behavior. First there is a need for a campaign similar to the "Fair Play" and "Say no to racism", and in addition to that is telling referees to instantly book players that complain, and send them off if they keep going. Once teams get a couple of players sent of for complaining, it's bound to stop, and it will also restrict the crowd from putting petrol on the fire.

Don't you agree it's time to end this? It's ruining the game! I know some of you will now say it's the referees that are making mistakes, but they make mistakes in other sports too, but the athletes there know they will be punished, and consequently don't do it.