1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dear Guest, Please note that adult content is not permitted on this forum. We have had our Google ads disabled due to some posts that were found from some time ago. Please do not post adult content and if you see any already on the forum, please report the post so that we can deal with it. Thanks, scara
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Please read this post: https://www.glory-glory.co.uk/community/threads/fund-raising-for-jeremy-yermiyahu.10542/
    Dismiss Notice

Permanently baffled by the 21st century

Discussion in 'Randomination' started by Gazza Dazzla, 3 Sep 2016.

  1. Baleforce

    Baleforce Steve Archibald

    Joined:
    14 Jan 2012
    Messages:
    40,427
    Likes Received:
    26,882
    it depends on the type of wiring, if it's cat3 twisted pair it could theoretically run 10mb

    if its a single pair it won't work as you need two pairs for ethernet

    you'd almost certainly have more luck with a wifi system like Eero but thats obviously a spend
     
    Rorschach likes this.
  2. P.D.

    P.D. Vedran Corluka

    Joined:
    14 Jan 2012
    Messages:
    6,057
    Likes Received:
    2,072
    Location:
    London
    Why not just get a mesh wi fi instead? They're not that pricey now unless you go for top of the range Wi Fi 6 stuff like the Orbi. The google one gets good reviews and isn't expensive - there will likely be lots of black friday deals on these things.
     
    Rorschach likes this.
  3. scaramanga

    scaramanga Mel Hopkins Staff Member

    Joined:
    13 Jan 2012
    Messages:
    32,945
    Likes Received:
    19,687
    Phone wire is unlikely to have enough pairs. Can you just tape some CAT-6 to it and pull it through?
     
    Baleforce and Rorschach like this.
  4. Rorschach

    Rorschach Vivian Woodward

    Joined:
    14 Jan 2012
    Messages:
    28,535
    Likes Received:
    18,356
    Location:
    ...here
    I have a fibre coming into the house, no active phone line anymore. This is an internal line but I've been fudging around with for a while now to no avail. I found a few phone/ethernet adapters (as I am a hoarder) but I think it is as @scaramanga says, not enough cable pairs. fudge it. I'll try something else.
     
  5. Rorschach

    Rorschach Vivian Woodward

    Joined:
    14 Jan 2012
    Messages:
    28,535
    Likes Received:
    18,356
    Location:
    ...here
    I'll look into it. Thanks.
     
  6. Rorschach

    Rorschach Vivian Woodward

    Joined:
    14 Jan 2012
    Messages:
    28,535
    Likes Received:
    18,356
    Location:
    ...here
    Not a bad idea but the road is too long and windy, so to speak. It would never pull through.
     
    scaramanga likes this.
  7. Bullet

    Bullet Steffen Freund

    Joined:
    14 Jan 2012
    Messages:
    14,437
    Likes Received:
    10,200
    Why is nothing easy nowadays? This thread title is very apt. I googled Mesh Wifi and the first hit has reviews such as

    "If, I'd read through all the reviews, I could have saved myself several hours of grief. Currently, eero won't work fully as a router with most UK broadband suppliers using VSDL, like BT. I currently have a BT smart hub, which is a combined modem/router. I read that the eero ideally needs to connect to the WAN via just a modem to avoid double NAT issues and the bt smart/home hubs can't be run in modem only/bridge mode, so I also purchased a TP Link W9970 which can be. However, it turns out this doesn't help as although the TP Link connects okay in bridge mode, it won't establish an internet connection, because it expects the router i.e. the eero to provide the PPPoE authentication, and the eero unlike most routers can't (yet) do this. Consequently, it's necessary to switch the router function back on in the TP Link (so could have just kept the BT Hub), disable WiFi in the modem/router and use the eero as a glorified wireless access point.
    Amazon, should change their description to make this short coming obvious and erro should update their quick start guide in their app so it better reflects the situation in the UK."


    Things should not be so complex, I don't want to understand all that crap, I just want a WiFi booster, simple pimple
     
    SteveAWOL, nayenezgani and Rorschach like this.
  8. Rorschach

    Rorschach Vivian Woodward

    Joined:
    14 Jan 2012
    Messages:
    28,535
    Likes Received:
    18,356
    Location:
    ...here
    TP-Link power line adapters working well now. Hitting a WIFI speed of about 40mbps in what was a dead zone. Maybe I used a different socket last time o_O.
     
    nayenezgani likes this.
  9. ricky2tricky4city

    ricky2tricky4city Rafael Van Der Vaart

    Joined:
    14 Jan 2012
    Messages:
    11,510
    Likes Received:
    9,724
    Location:
    south shore
    The Google nest router and point mesh setup was on the 'to buy' list, so although I would have had a good look into it, thanks for the heads up on UK issues.

    What the f.ck happened to plug and play?
     
  10. Kandi1977

    Kandi1977 Les Howe

    Joined:
    16 Jul 2014
    Messages:
    20,068
    Likes Received:
    17,346
    Location:
    Where Polarbears live
    It is plug and play, it's just that many UK isp's run weird hardware and proprietary solutions.
     
  11. Baleforce

    Baleforce Steve Archibald

    Joined:
    14 Jan 2012
    Messages:
    40,427
    Likes Received:
    26,882
    It’s not a 21st century thing specifically, but my daughter is now old enough, that a lot of the time, when doing the laundry, I don’t know if certain things are hers or my wife’s.
     
  12. SpurMeUp

    SpurMeUp Andy Thompson

    Joined:
    5 Feb 2012
    Messages:
    16,749
    Likes Received:
    8,559
    But it is a 21st C thing that you’re doing laundry


    Sitting on my porcelain throne using glory-glory.co.uk mobile app
     
    Robbo likes this.
  13. Baleforce

    Baleforce Steve Archibald

    Joined:
    14 Jan 2012
    Messages:
    40,427
    Likes Received:
    26,882
    Been doing it since I was a kid, that was last century.
     
  14. LemonadeMoney

    LemonadeMoney Les Ferdinand

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2012
    Messages:
    11,834
    Likes Received:
    12,327
    Mate, he's Chinese.
     
  15. Moby

    Moby Steffen Iversen

    Joined:
    14 Jan 2012
    Messages:
    9,323
    Likes Received:
    9,582
    If you want to post pictures of the items on here, maybe we could advise you?
     
    Robbo, Baleforce and Kandi1977 like this.
  16. johnola

    johnola Teemu Tainio

    Joined:
    18 Jan 2012
    Messages:
    3,393
    Likes Received:
    1,967
    Location:
    Surrey
    Does anyone know why washing machines have windows on them?
     
  17. ShipOfTheseus

    ShipOfTheseus Roman Pavlyuchenko

    Joined:
    19 Aug 2017
    Messages:
    3,572
    Likes Received:
    4,383
    Because if the water has failed to drain properly, opening a front-loading door would be a bad way to find out.
     
    Robbo, Kandi1977 and Baleforce like this.
  18. Kandi1977

    Kandi1977 Les Howe

    Joined:
    16 Jul 2014
    Messages:
    20,068
    Likes Received:
    17,346
    Location:
    Where Polarbears live
    The things you wish is your wife's, are probably your daughter's.
     
    Moby likes this.
  19. nayenezgani

    nayenezgani Jimmy Neighbour

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2014
    Messages:
    8,795
    Likes Received:
    8,732
    This thread has taken a creepy, Savillesque turn.
     
    spurspinter1, Robbo and djp82 like this.
  20. johnola

    johnola Teemu Tainio

    Joined:
    18 Jan 2012
    Messages:
    3,393
    Likes Received:
    1,967
    Location:
    Surrey
    I don’t think washing machines should have windows. Making them front loading is just to facilitate fitting them with a window.
     
    Grays_1890 likes this.

Share This Page