• Dear Guest, Please note that adult content is not permitted on this forum. We have had our Google ads disabled at times due to some posts that were found from some time ago. Please do not post adult content and if you see any already on the forum, please report the post so that we can deal with it. Adult content is allowed in the glory hole - you will have to request permission to access it. Thanks, scara

Change of sickness pay policy

scotty220

Matthew Etherington
This has really tinkled me off and wondering if any of you have experienced this?

I've been working for my company for over 4 years now, and sick pay has always been paid in full as we're almost always back within a day or two. Around 6 months ago we employed someone new and almost every Friday and Monday they would be off 'sick'. It later transpired that she was infact hungover (we found out from her Facebook page) so the Director had a private meeting with her and said she'll be paid on SSP basis (~£84 a week) from now on. None of us actually found this out until around a week ago when the Director decided to hand us all letters stating that from the 1st June all sick days will be paid on the SSP basis. He's arguing that because of discrimination everyone should have the same pay policies. It just seems so unfair that because of one person taking the tinkle we all get punished. There's only around 12 employees here.

Are there any employment experts who can shed any light on this? Unfortunately I cannot find my original contract of employment so don't actually know what it states regarding sick pay.

Full sick pay is at the discretion of the company, legally they only have to pay SSP. If it states in your employment contract however that you will get full pay when off sick then you have a case.

SSP from the first day or does it kick in after a few days off? Mine starts after a week off, I need a doctor's note after 2 days off otherwise it becomes unauthorised leave.